Home » Latest » Natrang’s Dogri play Mahabhoj featured in National awards festival.

Natrang’s Dogri play Mahabhoj featured in National awards festival.

Natrang’s highly acclaimed Dogri play “Mahabhoj” was featured in National awards festival at RabindraBhawan, New Delhi, a statement issued by theatre group Natrang said.The festival is being organized by National Academy of Music Dance and Drama, New Delhi. Written by Mannu Bhandari, translated in Dogri by Prof RN Shastri, the play Mahabhoj is innovatively directed by Balwant Thakur.

The most noteworthy feature of this performance was the featuring of Anil Tickoo in lead, who has been conferred this year’s SangeetNatakAkademi Award for acting in theatre.This exclusive presentation also featured two Bismillah Khan YuvaSangeetNatakAkademi awardees Vikrant Sharma and Sumeet Sharma.

Acclaimed all-over for its unique style of presentation and innovation this unconventional play ‘Mahabhoj’ revolves around the agricultural labourers of ‘Saroha’  who bear the brunt of the wrath of their landlord for raising voice against his atrocities. In a gruesome act of arson, their settlements are torched and nine innocent lives are lost. “Beesu”, a fiery young man is murdered in a dastardly act and a bold voice is strangulated.

The murder of ‘Beesu’ is sensationalised and every political party is out to earn maximum mileage out of it as elections are round the corner. The media magnifies this tragedy beyond proportions.The chief minister, Da Sahib, mastermind behind the murder, uses this murder as a weapon to silence his opponents and suppress internal unrest within party ranks.

The hurt sentiments of people of ‘Saroha’ are nursed by installing a cottage industry project, thus, providing employment opportunities. A fresh inquiry is ordered into Beesu’s murder. The politics of power plays its dirty game once again and truth becomes a casualty. ‘Binda’ a friend of Beesu and a crusader, is falsely implicated and arrested. The play deals both with the hawkish lust of human beings for power and tenacity of human race to stand up courageously against all odds.

The artists who accompanied Anil Tickoo includes Suresh Kumar, Neeraj Kant, SubashJamwal, Sumeet Sharma, Vikrant Sharma, Mohd. Yaseen, ManojLalotra, MeenakshiBhagat, Vrinda Sharma, Abhinav Sharma, Sumit Raina, Rakesh Kona and Sushant Singh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Sehrai condemns thrashing of SDM

Tehreek-e-Hurriyat (TeH) chairman Muhammad Ashraf Sehrai today expressed pain and anguish over the death of ...